Alan Adams - Return to Simple Church

ASSURANCE | August 15, 2011

Tomorrow Jeannette and I head to Frankford, Ontario, where I have been asked to preach (bring the meditation) at the funeral on Wednesday of a dear sister, Doris Alexander. I have seen a draft of the Order of Service for the funeral and right before I speak the congregation is scheduled to sing the old hymn, “Blessed Assurance, Jesus is Mine”.

Isn’t that a great hymn for a Christian’s funeral? Isn’t that a great theme for a funeral sermon?

Assurance. That’s the birthright of the sinner who has trusted in Jesus.

Assurance. 1 John 5:13 – “I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life.”

Assurance. 2 Corinthians 5:7-8 – “We live by faith, not by sight. We are confident, I say, and would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord.”

Assurance…blessed assurance. Yes, I think I will preach on assurance, as the Lord helps me. So many live and die without assurance. Doris Alexander had assurance, not by her own merit or competence, but by faith in the Lord Jesus Christ whose life, death and resurrection assure every believer of safety in this life and security for the life to come.


Posted in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment